bangalore
Date
  • weekwid: false
  • widHeader: false
  • orgName: naturewalkers
  • orwid: false
https://www.eventshigh.com/detail/bangalore/9124dd3d6db8b3befe1c3f3550d83c12-agumbe-rainforest-ecology-trek-camping

Agumbe Rainforest Ecology Trek & Camping

0.0,0.0
Fri, 24 Aug 2018 5:00PM - Sun, 26 Aug 2018 10:00PM
Rs 7499
1025 people viewed this event.
I Am Interested

Get notified when the event happens next time.

Summary

Summary
Highlights
  • Magnificent King Cobra
  • Rainforest
  • Draco Flying Lizards
  • Flying Squirrel
  • Slender Loris
Outdoors / Open Air
Transportation Avaliable : Yes
Tour Duration : 2 days, 2 nights
Activity : Camping
Kids Friendly
Stay Included
Breakfast Avaliable
Extra Bed Avaliable
Show

Details

Details

A reptile slithers slyly through the dry leaves looking for its prey somewhere in the warm tropical forest of South India. Leaving the comfort of its borrow, it moves stealthily to soak the warm sun that reflects from its scales.
Still visiting zoos to watch the animals caged and restricted to the confined spaces? Step into the territory where the wild remains unharmed and free. Your day might end with meeting this reptile - the magnificent King Cobra, which is native species to Agumbe.
In the wilderness of the dense jungles of Agumbe in the Western Ghats lies the Kalinga Centre of Rainforest Ecology (KCRE). This five-acre field site, snuggled into natures lap, was created for people to develop a better understanding of their ecosystem and learn about the scientific tools for its conservation.


The forest is a home to rich and diverse flora and fauna that thrive here - that now, they face a direct threat from humans. Through camps and workshops,  participants will learn on how to stay in harmony with animals and what role can they play to protect them.
We bring you an opportunity to peek into this magical world that still remains in its pristine form, untouched and untamed.
Relax quietly by the slow-moving streams under the canopy of large trees that almost block the sunlight. Indulge in wildlife photography, bird-watching, butterfly-watching. Catch a glimpse of the lesser-known species like Draco Flying Lizards, Flying Squirrel, and Slender Loris. Trek through the forest trails and get close to nature to experience the richness of this UNESCO World Heritage Site. All this and more awaits you at Kalinga, which named after the ruling reptile of Agumbe forest, the King Kobra.

View Contact Details
Like this event ? Share it with your friends !!
Show

Itinerary

Itinerary

Day 0:
We will leave from Bangalore late in the evening. We request you to have some light food before travelling. This trip would be an overnight journey to Guddekere we will begin with a breaking the ice session, which includes an informal introduction and of course a lot of fun.

Day 1:

  • We will arrive the Kalinga Centre of Rainforest Ecology (KCRE) in early morning. The day will start with an introductory session on Rainforest Ecology. A short walk around the camp site will follow where we might catch a glimpse of the Draco or Flying Lizards, flying across the barks of tall trees.
  • Dracos are no mythical monsters. Thousands of years of evolution have made these lizard airborne and capable to fly across half the length of a football field!
  • As the night falls and the forest becomes alive with the sound of nocturnal beings, we will set out to find the animals of the night, like the Flying Squirrels and Slender Loris. You might also spot amphibians lurking nearby.

Day 2:

  • Wake up to the freshness of pure, forest air. We will begin with an early morning trek. Our naturalist will lead us to explore the forest and pass through thick green canopies and meandering streams in search of species of birds, insects, reptiles and amphibians that inhabit the forest.
  • Be ready to get acquainted with the snake species of Agumbe. A session on First Aid for Snake Bites will follow, which could be useful for trekkers who often traverse through forests trails.
  • The evening will be a time to relax after a long day we have arranged for a Wildlife film for participants to know more about the flora and fauna of the wild. If you are still up at night like the nocturnal species of the forest, be ready to explore further on a night walk.

Day 3:

  • There is a lot you dont know about the king of this Jungle yet. You will be introduced to the Ecology of King Cobra and get more acquainted with the species itself. We will discuss the biodiversity in the forests of Agumbe and understand our part to play in the conservation of the animals and plants that belong here.
  • Leaving this enchantingly beautiful place and the secrets that it hides, we will depart to Bangalore on the same day.
Show

More Details

More Details

Accommodation:

  • Tented accommodation on sharing basis
  • Mats and blankets,
  • Dining cum discussion hall
  • Clean common bathrooms and toilets (Indian and Western) with hot water facility

Food:(Malnad cuisine)

  • South-Indian vegetarian / non-vegetarian food
  • Coffee and Tea (morning and evening)

Rules of the Forest:

  • We encourage and request participants to follow guidelines when entering the home of other species.
  • Bonfire and loud music is prohibited in view of avoiding any disturbance to animals
  • Handling, agitating, or disturbing any wildlife will warrant strict action
  • Collection of any kind of flora or fauna is not permitted
  • Exercise caution, control and care during observation and photography in the forest to avoid stressing species or exposing them to danger
  • Respect the culture and sentiments of locals
  • Kindly avoid carrying plastics and in case it is unavoidable we request that you carry back plastic waste with you like bottles, plastic bags and so on.
  • Room service is not available at the campsite.
Show

Things to carry

Things to carry
  • Two litres of water bottles
  • Raincoat (if in case it rains)
  • A torch
  • A cap
  • Sunscreen
  • Raincoat/Poncho
  • WEAR-Cargo/track pants - 2
  • T-shirt - 2
  • Shoes, Socks
  • Personal medication kit
  • Soap
  • Toothpaste
  • Toothbrush
Show

Inclusions and Exclusions

Inclusions and Exclusions

Inclusions

  • To and fro journey
  • Accommodation
  • Two morning breakfasts
  • Trekking
  • Campfire
  • Visit to Sunset and Sunrise point
  • Visit to Rajaseat sunset point
  • Visit to Abbe Falls
  • Lots and lots of FUN.

Inclusions

  • Sunday Lunch
  • Friday and Sunday Dinner
  • Any personal purchases
Show

Pickup Points

Pickup Points

1) Baroda Bank, Koramangala Water Tank. Opp. Mr Beans Home Cafe. Reporting Time: 7.15 PM Departure Time: 7.30 PM,

2) New Shanti Sagar Hotel  HAL Road Near Domlur Bridge. Reporting Time: 8.00 PM Departure Time: 8.15 PM,

3) MG Road Hard Rock Cafe near Anil Kumble Signal. Reporting Time: 9.00 PM Departure Time: 9.30 PM,

Show

Image Gallery

Image Gallery
Show

Destination Info

Destination Info
Agumbe
Agumbe
Popularly known as the Cherrapunji of the south, Agumbe is one of the small villages along the Malnad region of Karnataka. Agumbe is also known for its rainforest conservation efforts and also the efforts that many organisations make on promoting the cottage industries in and around Agumbe. This is also one of the most scenic trekking spots that constantly has trekkers and tourists visiting. Image Credits: wikimedia.org As one of the tourist spots, Agumbe offers some of the best scenic views of the dense green forest stretches. Agumbe is also easily along ... Read More

Map & Directions

Map & Directions
Agumbe ( Outside bangalore )
Reviews 5.0 (1)
Reviews 5.0
Agumbe Rainforest Ecology – Trek & Camping 14 - 17 Jun 2018.

Although this was our first trek with Nature Walkers, it didn’t feel like that from the very first minute we met Shane our outdoor leader and then one by one the group we were going with. Expectation I set for this trip was to relax, have some fresh air, go far away from the polluted busy environment and de-stress. I must admit I got much more than my expectations. Forest walks, a dip in a clear flowing stream of water (twice actually), a small trek to a peak where we had scenic view of nature and greenery, first aid for snake bite session, session on King Cobra, wildlife photography, night walks, butterflies, camping in tents, tasty home cooked meals. We got a chance to be interacting with the Kalinga Center (KCRE) team (Gowrishankar, Prashant and Priyanka). They shared their experiences with rescuing king Cobras, we watched an amazing documentary featuring their rescue operations. This interaction was very informative and we learnt a lot about wildlife and their ecology. We even got a chance to have a quick stop at Sringeri temple, on our way back to Bangalore.

Away from network, it was great to disconnect from the virtual world and connect with nature.

Nature walkers have an amazing zeal that is contagious. Their passion to make every experience into a memorable one is evident in their actions and their interactions. Shane made sure all of us were always enjoying, having fun, kept us engaged and kept motivating me specially during the trek, which was a piece of cake for everyone else, including my 11-year-old daughter.

Thanks to Hemant and Amrita for constantly being in touch with their recommendations and help with planning this trip. Thanks to everyone on the trip with us, specially our awesome DJ Srikanth who also entertained us with his energetic dance, our illusionist Rahul who presented jaw dropping tricks during the trip, and everyone else contributing their share of fun Satish, Sanil, Gopalan, Shane, Shreya, Lalitha, thanks for making this a wonderful experience.

If you are looking for having a fun weekend, you can blindly pick any trip with Nature Walkers and I can guarantee, you won’t be disappointed. This is the testimonial I received from every repeat trekker on our trip. I am definitely motivated to tick off every trip they organize. Keep going Nature Walkers, looking forward to a lot of fun.
- by Neema Sanilnath for Agumbe Rainforest Ecology – Trek & Camping .
Show
Organizer Reviews 4.2 (20)
Reviews for Organizer 4.2
Agumbe Rainforest Ecology – Trek & Camping 14 - 17 Jun 2018.

Although this was our first trek with Nature Walkers, it didn’t feel like that from the very first minute we met Shane our outdoor leader and then one by one the group we were going with. Expectation I set for this trip was to relax, have some fresh air, go far away from the polluted busy environment and de-stress. I must admit I got much more than my expectations. Forest walks, a dip in a clear flowing stream of water (twice actually), a small trek to a peak where we had scenic view of nature and greenery, first aid for snake bite session, session on King Cobra, wildlife photography, night walks, butterflies, camping in tents, tasty home cooked meals. We got a chance to be interacting with the Kalinga Center (KCRE) team (Gowrishankar, Prashant and Priyanka). They shared their experiences with rescuing king Cobras, we watched an amazing documentary featuring their rescue operations. This interaction was very informative and we learnt a lot about wildlife and their ecology. We even got a chance to have a quick stop at Sringeri temple, on our way back to Bangalore.

Away from network, it was great to disconnect from the virtual world and connect with nature.

Nature walkers have an amazing zeal that is contagious. Their passion to make every experience into a memorable one is evident in their actions and their interactions. Shane made sure all of us were always enjoying, having fun, kept us engaged and kept motivating me specially during the trek, which was a piece of cake for everyone else, including my 11-year-old daughter.

Thanks to Hemant and Amrita for constantly being in touch with their recommendations and help with planning this trip. Thanks to everyone on the trip with us, specially our awesome DJ Srikanth who also entertained us with his energetic dance, our illusionist Rahul who presented jaw dropping tricks during the trip, and everyone else contributing their share of fun Satish, Sanil, Gopalan, Shane, Shreya, Lalitha, thanks for making this a wonderful experience.

If you are looking for having a fun weekend, you can blindly pick any trip with Nature Walkers and I can guarantee, you won’t be disappointed. This is the testimonial I received from every repeat trekker on our trip. I am definitely motivated to tick off every trip they organize. Keep going Nature Walkers, looking forward to a lot of fun.
- by Neema Sanilnath for Agumbe Rainforest Ecology – Trek & Camping organized by Nature Walkers .
I must admit that I already miss the wonderful trip we had welcoming this new year. We were informed that this trip would be more to chill than to trek and you were absolutely right Mr. Hemant.

As soon as we reached Gokarna beach we left no time in taking a dip in the sea. Then we had a long walk on the beach and a small trek to reach Yana waterfalls. It was fun diving and swimming in the fresh cold waters.

We were back to the beach to witness a beautiful sunset and the view was mesmerizing and to top it off we played beach football in this stunning setting.

We missed the rain in rain dance but danced our hearts out for more than 3 hours!!

We welcomed the new year with colorful sky lanterns and fireworks. The interesting part was that we were enjoying every moment with some amazing people who had become good friends in no time!

On our way back, we played Mafia with our huge team of around 30 people and Asav was a cunning mafia rallying till the end fooling all the poor villagers.

Lastly, I would like to thank Hemant, Anupama and Manoj for organizing this amazing trip and I should mention that I have seen very few people with Hemant’s level of patience. Also, made some wonderful friends in Nikhil, Harsh, Rupali, Tanwi, Anupama, Manish and Hemant.

I have a feeling that the best day of the year is already done with this trip, but I look forward to my next trip with NatureWalkers which is going to take fun quotient to the next level and have some peaceful time off from our hectic job schedule.

PS: I had to wait till weekend to write this review as I had to dive directly into work after this awesome trip. Also, if it wasn’t for my friend Asav I wouldn’t have made this super awesome trip.
- by Badshah Badarudeen for Gokarna Beach Trek - 2 Day Package organized by Nature Walkers .
I must admit that I already miss the wonderful trip we had welcoming this new year. We were informed that this trip would be more to chill than to trek and you were absolutely right Mr. Hemant.

As soon as we reached Gokarna beach we left no time in taking a dip in the sea. Then we had a long walk on the beach and a small trek to reach Yana waterfalls. It was fun diving and swimming in the fresh cold waters.

We were back to the beach to witness a beautiful sunset and the view was mesmerizing and to top it off we played beach football in this stunning setting.

We missed the rain in rain dance but danced our hearts out for more than 3 hours!!

We welcomed the new year with colorful sky lanterns and fireworks. The interesting part was that we were enjoying every moment with some amazing people who had become good friends in no time!

On our way back, we played Mafia with our huge team of around 30 people and Asav was a cunning mafia rallying till the end fooling all the poor villagers.

Lastly, I would like to thank Hemant, Anupama and Manoj for organizing this amazing trip and I should mention that I have seen very few people with Hemant’s level of patience. Also, made some wonderful friends in Nikhil, Harsh, Rupali, Tanwi, Anupama, Manish and Hemant.

I have a feeling that the best day of the year is already done with this trip, but I look forward to my next trip with NatureWalkers which is going to take fun quotient to the next level and have some peaceful time off from our hectic job.

PS: I had to wait till weekend to write this review as I had to dive directly into work after this awesome trip. Also, if it wasn’t for my friend Asav I wouldn’t have made this super awesome trip.
- by Badshah Badarudeen for Gokarna Beach Trek - 2 Day Package organized by Nature Walkers .
Show

Frequently Asked Questions

FAQs
  • Q. Hi, We are interested in the Agumbe Rainforest Ecology Trek and Camping. But we have few question about the trip. 1. Mentioned dates are 3- 5 Aug, can u tell us the pick up time from Bangalore and drop time to Banglore, since we will be coming from Chennai , it will help us plan our travel to Bangalore. 2. is there any similar trip for 2 days instead of 3 days.
    6:41 PM, 15 Jul, 2018
  •     A. is she the user you spoke to
          12:14 PM, 16 Jul, 2018
  •     A. Yes, Please check the website and share the links with her
          4:41 AM, 17 Jul, 2018
  •     A. Hi Rups, 1) Baroda Bank, Koramangala Water Tank. Opp. Mr Beans Home Cafe. Reporting Time: 7.15 PM Departure Time: 7.30 PM, 2) New Shanti Sagar Hotel HAL Road Near Domlur Bridge. Reporting Time: 8.00 PM Departure Time: 8.15 PM, 3) MG Road Hard Rock Cafe near Anil Kumble Signal. Reporting Time: 9.00 PM Departure Time: 9.30 PM, Here are couple of other events that you might like. https://www.eventshigh.com/detail/Bangalore/fb4f443a914f36f6f39ed29cf26d9ac7-explore-hampi-heritage-trek-bouldering?src=ecbox https://www.eventshigh.com/detail/Bangalore/7508d9727994c780e9f38e870318fa80-kodachadri-trek?src=ecbox https://www.eventshigh.com/detail/Bangalore/feca3428e5045aa2b10ec395d6cea9ff-honnemaradu-and-jog-falls-combo?src=ecbox https://www.eventshigh.com/detail/Bangalore/7de40b163fc00513274f5a2d44549ec0-kodaikanal-pillar-rocks-camping-with?src=ecbox Regards, EH
          6:10 AM, 18 Jul, 2018
Have any query? Drop your questions here !!
Show